What’s your comfort reading?

Last week Fangs and Clause ran a great post about comfort reading. It came at a good time for me — I had just been rejected by a great job and really needed to bury myself in some cheerful, captivating reading. (And, OK, I will admit to a lengthy Netflix marathon of “Scrubs” as well.) When I’m feeling bummed out I tend to reach for books that cheer me up with humor, great characters, and interesting worlds. My comfort reading of late has fallen into three categories.

1. Something I’ve read before

Anything by Jennifer Crusie usually puts a smile on my face. She’s got a gift with dialogue, humor to burn, and a sixth sense for putting in just enough quirk without pushing it over the edge. Try Bet Me, Faking It, or Anyone But You (which, as the cover suggests, has not only great characters and a sweet love story but also an adorable dog). I’ve also been known to re-read my old YA favorites, like The Blue Sword or Dealing with Dragons.

2. Urban fantasy

I have recently re-evaluated what I said about not liking urban fantasy. I think what I actually don’t like is urban fantasy with a vampire romantic lead. I’ve been on an urban fantasy kick lately and it turns out that I actually really enjoy the genre — as long as its vampires are gross and scary (Kate Daniels) or non-existent (Neverwhere, War for the Oaks, the October Daye books). While not all urban fantasy is light reading, there’s something about the genre that’s wonderfully transporting and perfect for keeping my mind off stressful thoughts. (Independentclause over at Fangs and Clause, who also looks to urban fantasy for comfort reading, put this more eloquently than I just did.)

3. Jane Austen

Technically this is a subset of Category 1, but I have to give special props to Jane. I can’t read Pride and Prejudice without feeling better about the world. It’s scientifically impossible.

What’s your comfort reading?

9 comments on “What’s your comfort reading?

  1. cransell says:

    Mystery series with strong female leads. YA Fantasy novels. If things are really desperate, children’s chapter books like Pippi Longstocking or the Betsy, Tacy books. I’m all about the comfort reading.

  2. I also reread “The Blue Sword,” as well as “The Witch of Blackbird Pond,” yearly. My criteria for good urban fantasy is that the language and the romance are not too barf-inducing (that’s a technical term) and that I can survive the book with my feminist ideals reasonably intact. I too am anti-vampire. Yawn. Vampires are not sexy. I recommend Margaret Ronald, and I’m going to read Kate Daniels. Thanks!

    • The Kate Daniels series is great for those of us who don’t want to burn our Feminist Club Cards! I recommend starting with Book 2, Magic Burns. Book 1 (Magic Bites) is a slightly shaky debut for the series and I think by Book 2 they’ve got the kinks ironed out.

      Margaret Ronald looks great! I’m definitely putting her on my to-read list.

  3. Sharon says:

    The Peter Wimsey mysteries by Dorothy Sayers, light YA fantasy (Sorcery and Cecilia is a particular favorite), favorite children’s/YA books (Anne of Green Gables series, Little Women).

Leave a Reply

